President's Day celebrated

Tony Tinworth, Sunday, 10 July 2011

The Zone held it's annual President's Day at Pittwater Memorial Bowling Club today, held in conjunction with the playing of the State Singles Championship.

The occasion gives those clubs who do not hold a President's Day of their own to recognise the efforts of some of their hard working volunteers by having them presented with Merit Badges and tie bars by Zone Councillor Les McAlpine. Each club is allowed  2 Merit Badges - the 'Royal's' highest honour- and 1 tie bar each President's term of office. The presentation of badges is followed by a 'spider', then a social game of bowls between the visiting clubs. Following tthe game a formal lunch is held for all those attending in the Pittwater Clubs bowlers room.

Les McAlpine responded to the toast to the RNSWBA and Zone President Bob Moran proposed a toast to club Presidents. In doing so, he reported on recent successes by our representatives in the various inter-Zone games this year and on a number of other issues of current interest. Belrose President Allan Gordon responded on behalf of the presidents. Zone Patron Fred Leane thanked our hosts and then conducted a raffle in his inimitable style. The spider raised $111 which goes to the Bowls NSW charity of the year.

Clubs who attended today were:    Belrose, Dee Why, Gordon, Killara, Mona Vale, Mosman, Newport, North Manly, Pittwater, Seaforth, St Ives and Turramurra

The Zone thanks Secretary Ray Reilly who was in charge of arrangements for the day.

click photos to enlarge